FNB (dis)connect

March 5th, 2010

I regard this as a user experience failure from FNB:

Ever heard of FNB Connect? Me neither… until I got a couple of emails from them during the last two months, marketing their services. Just click the links in the email and go straight to fnbconnect.co.za to sign up!

But, that doesn’t seem quite right because when you visit the FNB website, the following warning pops up:

PHISHING ALERT

Remember, FNB will never ask for sensitive information via email

Golden Rules

  • Never access the site via a link. Rather type the address into the browser address bar or save the address as a ‘Favourite’.
  • If you suspect that your confidential information has been compromised, please do not hesitate to contact our dedicated Fraud Team on 011 632 2226 for assistance, or email risk.online@fnb.co.za

The most important thing to remember is not to interact with the sender of the email, and definitely do not enter any of your personal or account details from a hyperlink in an email.

Ok… So now I’m interested in the services offered by FNB Connect, but hang on, how do I know it’s really them and not just a scam? To make perfectly sure, I go to FNB’s website first - surely there will be a link of some sort to direct me to the “Connect” products? Wrong! Only a thorough study of the FNB site map yields three links to descriptions of the “Connect” services, and right at the bottom of this, a small link to fnbconnect.co.za.

Wow, very convincing FNB. Especially since you shredded every scrap of confidence in me with your PHISING ALERTS.

Just keeping the Connect services on the fnb.co.za domain instead of fnbconnect.co.za would already make the world of difference to boost user confidence. A link on the home page wouldn’t hurt either. Oh, and keep the page design consistent.

§ Leave a Reply

What's this?

You are currently reading FNB (dis)connect at Above The Media.

meta